Drawer Marked Misc – Star Trek Reboot Feels

We finally got around to watching the new Star Trek movies: Star Trek and Star Trek Into Darkness. Honestly I think our delay was partly my fault. I will admit I hear “James T. Kirk” and my eyes just roll on their own accord. But we’re both Lost fans so we should have watched these in the cinema to support J.J. Abrams and Damon Lindelof and I’m sorry we didn’t.


 

I also want to admit something else. Before watching these movies I was getting really tired of the constant Abrams lens flare jokes. I take it back. Dear Mr. Abrams! Please listen when people tell you to cut that stuff out. We were this /\ close to putting sunglasses on to finish watching the movies. And to the complaining masses:

“I’m sorry guys! You were right, I was wrong. That stuff is out of control.”

Watch the Honest Trailers funny and snarky take on the Star Trek reboot:

Also the female characters in those movies… Could pretty much have been replaced by blow-up dolls. What a beautiful future. Thanks for that (ed. that’s sarcasm)!

With that out of the way I now have two more actors I adore:

Karl Urban. (Photo from IMDB.com)

Karl Urban who played Bones was a ridiculously good choice for the role, as I think he embodies quite a lot of the spirit of the original Bones. I could have done without the “Dammit Jim I’m a Doctor not a…” clichés but w/e. It’s a bone (heh!) thrown to the fans of the original and it doesn’t really ruin his overall performance. I also watched him in Red the other night and in Dredd a few weeks ago and this guy is making grumpy sexy again like nobody has since, I don’t know, Jack Lemon, Walter Matthau? definitely hit my Must-Watch-Everything-With-This-Actor-List.

Zachary Quinto. I watched Heroes back in the day. About a season and a half and unfortunately his character was a big part of why I stopped watching it. In hindsight that may have been the writing rather than his performance because his Spock is awesome.

Zachary Quinto as Spock. (image from BackgroundWallpapers.com)

Zachary Quinto as Spock. (image from BackgroundWallpapers.com)

Holy cow is it awesome. Could we please have had a movie with just him, Bones, Scotty, Uhura, Chekov, Pike… oh wait could we just have had the movie without Kirk? I know he’s written to be less than like-able but I really, really couldn’t stand him. I started grinding my teeth every frame he was in. And I’d still recommend the movie – lens flare fest and all. I haven’t watched Chris Pine (who played Kirk in the Star Trek reboot) in anything else so I can’t say for sure what’s bothering me more, the character or the actor but gosh was he irritating, conceited, clumsy, oafish, sexist, unprofessional and unattractive. I could see them copy/pasting that character and actor to portray the story of a washed out athlete with a dependency on prostitutes and crack. And it is only so much more poignant against the brief glimpses of Chris Hemsworth playing as Kirk’s father. Makes you want to weep into your Cheetoh’s…

Honest Trailers had opinions on Into Darkness too…:

Ah but Benedict Cumberbatch unsurprisingly played a wonderful villain! A balanced sweet ‘n sour mix of on one hand identifiable, earnest and even like-able, to on the other hand morally deplorable, terrifying and inhuman. It’s not fair to expect from an actor that he’ll blow your mind with depth and portrayal but I do from him and he’s always delivered so far.

Finally Simon Pegg is awesome as Scotty and what’s more is he’s one of us. A geek through and through and that man gets a proud shoulder punch from me if I should ever meet him.

So anyways, watch the movies. They’re (mostly) good stuff!

>> EDIT (Sep. 30, 2013) <<

Seems J.J.Abrams is aware his amount of lense flares aren’t universally loved. In an interview with CraveOnline he said:

I know I get a lot of grief for that. But I’ll tell you, there are times when I’m working on a shot, I think, ‘Oh this would be really cool… with a lens flare.’ But I know it’s too much, and I apologize. I’m so aware of it now. I was showing my wife an early cut of Star Trek Into Darkness and there was this one scene where she was literally like, ‘I just can’t see what’s going on. I don’t understand what that is.’ I was like, ‘Yeah, I went too nuts on this.

( via TheMarySue )

Good news for Star Wars perhaps? Time will tell. As for the future of Star Trek it seems the rumors about a new TV series were groundless, sadly.

Talk to me!

